

"Together we aspire, together we achieve"

Whalley Parish Clerk 27 Waddow Grove Waddington, Clitheroe BB7 3JL M:07966 388843 E:clerk@whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk

# Local Government Act 1972 Whalley Parish Council Annual Meeting of the Council

Members of the Council, you are summoned to the Annual Meeting of the Parish Council to be held on Thursday 15<sup>th</sup> May 2025 in the Calder Room, Whalley Old Grammar School at 7.00pm

Signed: EKHaworth

Liz Haworth - Clerk & Responsible Finance Officer

# **Agenda**

Agenda items should be submitted to the Clerk seven clear days before the meeting. The Clerk will forward Councillors, all relevant information and supporting documents, 3 clear days before the meeting.

1.	To Elect a Chairman	
	Who will then sign Acceptance of Office of Chairman.	
2.	Attendance & Apologies	
	To record attendance and to receive apologies for absence.	
3.	Vice Chairman	
	To elect a Vice Chairman.	
4.	Representatives on Committees and other Outside Bodies	
	To review and consider committees. To appoint Council representatives on	
	committees and other outside bodies.	
5.	WPC Policies	
	To review and confirm the Parish Council Policies are up to date.	
6.	Parish Council Meetings	
	To agree the dates of the annual calendar of meetings.	
7.	Next Annual Meeting of the Parish Council	
	To agree the date of the next Annual Parish Meeting as 21st May 2026.	

## AGENDA ITEM 4

For information, the current Councillor representatives appointments are listed below.

Representatives to Committees & *Outside Bodies <sup>i</sup>	Councillor(s)
*Adam Cottam Trust	C Allen, C Ball, J Brown
(3 members to serve for 4 yrs)	
Churchyard Committee	C Allen, C Ball (Chairman), M Highton, J Threlfall
*LALC Ribble Valley Area Committee	R Vickers
*Parish Liaison Committee	M Highton (Chairman), J Threlfall
Planning Committee	Full Council, J Threlfall (Chairman)
*Speed Working Party Group	J Threlfall
*QEII Playing Fields Trust	J Brown
*Village Hall Committee	J Threlfall
Whalley, Barrow and Wiswell Joint Burial	C Allen, J Carlton, M Highton (Chairman), J
Committee	Threlfall, R Vickers
*Whalley Education Foundation (2 members to serve for 3 yrs)	C Allen, J Brown (2022-2025)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>i</sup> \*Not a committee of Whalley Parish Council



"Together we aspire, together we achieve"



# **PARISH COUNCIL MEETINGS 2025-26**

The Parish Council meet every third Thursday except for December.

Parish Council Meetings are held at Whalley Old Grammar School

Station Road, Whalley BB7 9RH in the Calder Room.

Members of the public are encouraged to attend meetings and can speak and inform councillors of their views. Whalley Parish Council prides itself on its accessibility to the public, and the members wish to represent all views of the residents of Whalley. If you wish to speak to a councillor in private, a monthly surgery is held at 6.30pm prior to the meetings.

### **Calendar of Meetings Dates**

June 19 <sup>th</sup> 2025	November 20 <sup>th</sup> 2025	March 19 <sup>th</sup> 2026	
July 17 <sup>th</sup> 2025	<b>Budget Precept Setting</b>	April 16 <sup>th</sup> 2026	
August 21 <sup>st</sup> 2025	Meeting November 2025 date TBC	Annual Meeting of the Parish April 30 <sup>th</sup> 2026	
September 18 <sup>th</sup> 2025	January 15 <sup>th</sup> 2026	·	
October 16 <sup>th</sup> 2025	February 19 <sup>th</sup> 2026	Annual Meeting of the Council May 21 <sup>st</sup> 2026	

Planning Committee Meetings at 7.00pm
Parish Council Meetings at 7.30pm

All Agendas & Minutes can be found on Whalley Parish Council Website

whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk

#### **COUNCIL MEMBERS**

Councillor Martin Highton (Chair)
Councillor John Threlfall (Vice-Chair)
Councillor Caroline Allen
Councillor Clifford Ball
Councillor Peter Duckworth
Councillor Ged Mirfin
Councillor Jonathan Smith
Councillor Richard Vickers

#### **CONTACT**

chairman@whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk
john.threlfall@whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk
caroline.allen@whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk
clifford.ball@whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk
Peter.duckworth@whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk
gerald.mirfin@whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk
jonathan.smith@whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk
richard.vickers@whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk

#### **PARISH CLERK**

Liz Haworth <u>clerk@whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk</u>